NCU News

Academic Creativity & Excellence Winners are Announced

ACE-Day-LogoACE Day is Academic Creativity and Excellence day, the semi-annual research colloquium. The first ACE Day happened in Spring 2010. At first, ACE Day for fall term was only a half day, but as December graduation grew, so did December ACE Day.

This Spring, there were 62 presentations delivered by 70 students: 42  were senior capstones, six were honors contracts, and the remaining 14 were class term projects. One student exhibited her original paintings. Departments represented included:

  • Bible & Theology
  • Biology
  • Business
  • Christian Ministry
  • Communication
  • English
  • History
  • Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Math
  • Psychology
  • Teacher Education


1. Joshua Higashi, a Sophomore majoring in Communication, from Eugene, graduate of Churchhill High School, for “Relation Communication in Education Environments.”

2. A three-way tie:

  • Colby Hanson, for “The ideology of military advertising.”
  • Natalie Kogutkiewicz, a Junior majoring in Teacher Education, from Eugene, alum of Sheldon High School, for “P. A. T.”
  • Candace Rodgers, a senior majoring in Communication from Evansville, Indiana and a graduate of  North High School , for “A rhetorical criticism of mother’hood. “

3. Colby Hanson, a Junior majoring in Communication, from Creswell, alum of Creswell High School, for “To speak or Listen? Taking a second look at our attitudes toward listening.”

Judges, included:

The morning panel:

  • Brian Carrigan, associate professor of Physics and Math
  •  Johnny Lake, associate professor of Teacher Education
  •  Dave Quirk, associate professor of Business
  • Timothy Veach, associate professor of Business
  • Connie Wilmarth, professor of Math

The afternoon panel was comprised of professors and administrators:

  • Mick Bollenbaugh, professor of Philosophy and Biblical Studies
  • Michael Fuller, vice president for Enrollment and Student Development
  • Nathan Icenhower, financial aid counselor, Adult Degree and Graduate Programs
  • Stacey Lewis, associate professor of Accounting
  • Heike McNeil, professor of Chemistry